William Streck, M.D.

Dr. William Streck is a board-certified endocrinologist and visionary leader with more than four decades of experience running care delivery organizations.

He was the President and CEO of Bassett Healthcare Network in New York, a role he held for over 30 years. He led the transformation of Mary Imogene Bassett Hospital, an academic teaching hospital with an $80 million revenue stream, into the Bassett Healthcare Network, an integrated healthcare delivery system with revenues of $700 million. Today, the organization employs more than 500 providers in the Basset Medical Group and over 4,000 full-time staff at some 40 sites over 5,600 square miles in central New York. In addition to Bassett Medical Center and Bassett Medical Group, the organization includes four affiliate hospitals, two skilled nursing facilities, more than two dozen outpatient centers, and twenty school-based health centers.

In addition to the development of the integrated regional network of care, Dr. Streck led early efforts in business analytics and innovation in insurance design, all of which helped establish Bassett as a policy leader in New York State and nationally.

A champion for healthcare, Dr. Streck has contributed his expertise to multiple governmental, professional and policy groups, including his role as Chief Medical and Health Systems Innovation Officer for the Healthcare Association of New York State (HANYS), and Chair of the Public Health and Health Planning Council of New York State.  Most recently, he served as Chief Clinical Officer for Canton & Company, where he engaged clients on clients on a variety of sustainable growth strategies, including corporate governance, physician group organization and function, new models of care, the application of technology to advance quality and cost-effective care delivery, integrated network development, and physician leadership.

He remains an active strategist, thinker, activist, and participant in the forces shaping healthcare in the United States.

David Rosenberg, M.D.

David Rosenberg, M.D., is Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences at Wayne State University School of Medicine.

The Miriam L. Hamburger Endowed Chair of Child Psychiatry and professor of Psychiatry, Dr. Rosenberg is a 15-year veteran of the School of Medicine faculty and the department.

Dr. Rosenberg also serves as the chief of Child Psychiatry and Psychology for the WSU School of Medicine and director of Child and Adolescent Neuropsychiatric Research at Children’s Hospital of Michigan. He is the director of the Obsessive Compulsive Disorder Clinical Research Program and the Child and Adolescent Research Division, as well as medical director for Behavioral Health Research and Development for Children’s Hospital of Michigan.

He received his medical degree from the University of Michigan in 1988, followed by an internship and residency in general psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic. He completed a fellowship in Child Psychiatry as well as a National Institute of Mental Health research fellowship at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center’s Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic, and the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center’s Department of Psychiatry, respectively.

A strongly funded and widely published researcher, Dr. Rosenberg is often sought out by the national media as an expert on issues of child psychiatry. He wrote the first ever textbook on pediatric psychopharmacology, “Textbook of Pharmacotherapy for Childhood and Adolescent Psychiatric Disorders,” now in its third edition.

Carolyn (Cindy) A. Watts, Ph.D.

Carolyn (Cindy) Watts, Ph.D. is a Professor in the Department of Health Administration at Virginia Commonwealth University and an Adjunct Lecturer in the Health Care Studies Program at the University of Richmond.  With a Ph.D. in economics from the Johns Hopkins University, Dr. Watts has focused her research on organizational, reimbursement and regulatory issues in healthcare markets.  Her past research projects have explored the impact of various legislative initiatives on health insurance risk pools and the implementation of various medical home demonstration projects in Washington State.

In addition to her four decades of teaching health economics, health policy, and health care strategy, Dr. Watts has been active in state health policy.  While on the faculty at the University of Washington, she served as Chair of the 2006 Washington State Certificate of Need Program Task Force and was a founding member of the Health Information Partnership Board in that state.  She also served on the Washington State Employees Health Benefits Board.

In Virginia, she has worked with the Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association on a project to measure value in Virginia hospitals, and serves on the Board of Virginia’s oldest free clinic, Health Brigade.  At the national level, Dr. Watts served on an Institute of Medicine Task Force to evaluate the Lovell Federal Heath Care Center Merger, and was an officer on the Board of the Association of University Programs in Health Administration.

Jair C. Soares, M.D., Ph.D.

Jair C. Soares, M.D., Ph.D., joined UTHealth in 2009 and currently serves as professor and Pat R. Rutherford, Jr. Chair in Psychiatry at McGovern Medical School and as executive director of UTHealth Harris County Psychiatric Center. A Board-certified psychiatrist, he also serves as chief of Psychiatry Services at Memorial Hermann Hospital and LBJ Hospital. The sites provide patient care and serve as clinical training facilities for UTHealth medical students, psychiatry residents and psychiatry fellows.

Dr. Soares directs the Center of Excellence on Mood Disorders which focuses on the search for the causes and the development of new treatments for mood disorders. The center is comprised of an active research team who specializes in clinical neurosciences (neuroimaging, neurophysiology, cognitive neurosciences, and genetics), as well as clinical psychopharmacology and interventions research.

After receiving his medical degree from the University of Sao Paulo in Brazil in 1990, Soares accepted a psychiatric residency in adult psychiatry at the University of Sao Paulo and a research tract residency in general psychiatry at the Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic at the University of Pittsburgh. Subsequently, Soares received a brain imaging fellowship with the Yale University School of Medicine Department of Psychiatry. He obtained a Ph.D. in medical sciences at the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul in Brazil.

Prior to joining UTHealth, Soares served as the Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Director of the Center of Excellence in Research and Treatment for Bipolar Disorders at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and as Deputy Chair for Research and Division Chief for Mood and Anxiety Disorders with the Department of Psychiatry at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Soares has received numerous honors and awards, including the National Plaque of Honor, Republic of Panama, the Devereux Clinic Emy Award, and the “Best Doctor Award.” He has published more than 200 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters in psychiatric literature and has held editorial positions on a number of national and international medical journals. Since April 2015, he is also the co-editor in chief for the Journal of Affective Disorders, and currently is the President of the International Society for Affective Disorders.

Interested in learning more? Click here to schedule a no-cost initial consultation or to contact us for more information.